Make a Donation

Donate to the MTAEFHelp us in our mission to introduce Technical Analysis to Colleges and Universities.
Make a Donation »

Educator Tools

Technical Analysis EducationAccess video archives and various PowerPoint presentations for use in the classroom.
Get Started »

Quarterly Newsletter

Technical Analysis NewsletterStay current with what's happening in the MTAEF with our quarterly newsletter.
Sign Up Now »

Mike Epstein Award

Mike Epstein AwardIn 2009, the MTA Educational Foundation established an annual award in memory of our late colleague, Mike Epstein. Each year, the award is presented to the person who best exemplifies Mike’s goals for long-term sponsorship of Technical Analysis in Academia and in practice!

2014 Award Winner – Blake LeBaron

The MTA Educational Foundation is honored that Professor Blake LeBaron of Brandeis University will accept the 2014 Mike Epstein award. His work goes beyond the indicators that most of us use to the core of how markets operate and how strategies for dealing with them evolve over time.

View entire press release here.

2012 Award Winners – Julie Dahlquist, Ph.D, CMT and Charles Kirkpatrick, CMT

For the first time in 2012, the MTAEF’s Mike Epstein award was given to two recipients! Julie Dahlquist and Charles Kirkpatrick are probably best known for their outstanding book, “Technical Analysis: The Complete Resource for Financial Market Technicians.” Their book has been one of the major pieces in the MTA’s Chartered Market Technician program for many years. Aside from being accomplished authors, both Julie and Charles have dedicated a tremendous amount of time to academia, making them an obvious choice to receive this year’s award!

2012 Mike Epstein Award Winners

2011 Award Winner – Bruce Kamich, CMT

In 2011, the Mike Epstein Award was award to Bruce Kamich, CMT. Bruce is an adjunct professor at Baruch College and long-time president of the MTAEF. The award was presented to him by Philip Roth, CMT.

2010 Award Winner – Hank Pruden, Ph.D.

The Mike Epstein Award was issued to Henry (Hank) Pruden, Ph.D. in 2010. Dr. Pruden is a professor at Golden Gate University in San Francisco and has been involved in the technical markets for many years.

2009 Award Winner – Andrew Lo, Ph.D.

The inaugural Mike Epstein Award was presented to Andrew W. Lo, Ph.D. in 2009. Dr. Lo is a professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. The award was presented to him by John Bollinger, CFA, CMT.

What's Happening at the MTAEF
Information on the latest news and upcoming events.

Nov. 28th, 2016

The 2016 Market Technicians Association Educational Foundation annual fundraiser was held on October 26th at The Yale Club of New York City. This yearly event is an important source of funding that contributes to the foundation’s ongoing efforts to establish, … Continue reading

Aug. 14th, 2015

Phil Roth, CMT recently made public his Masters Thesis, “Investors Make Bottoms; Traders Make Tops.”  Below, you can find an abstract from the paper: Preface My intention is not to defend or deny the theories of “Behavioral Finance”.  It has long … Continue reading